The George Clifford Memorial Trophy Game

The George Clifford Memorial Trophy Game
20th June at Lodsworth
Lodsworth won

Lodsworth CC 240 for 9 wickets (Oliver King 52 not out, James Hickey 46, Joe Clifford 20)
Matt Hall Invitation Xl 216 all out (Lee Ayres 41, Matt Hall 38, Richard Finch 30, John Clifford 20, Aaron Calder 17)

On one of the hottest days of the year so far, both teams contested the annual George Clifford Memorial Trophy. George Clifford started playing for Lodsworth in the 1940’s and was still playing well into his seventies. Not only has there been the legendary Joe Clifford who played for the team, but the family tradition continues with the 3rd generations of both John Clifford and Matt Hall grandsons of George.

Rob Collins & Fergus Cruickshank got Lodsworth off to a steady start, before being removed by David Mumford & John Clifford respectively. Oliver King (52 retired) was joined at the crease by James Hickey (46) who both scored freely before Hickey was dismissed four short of his half century. Joe Clifford scored the shot of the day with an effortless well-timed six. Paul Phillips and Andy Long soon pushed the innings on for a highly respectable 240 for 9. Lee Ayres (2 catches) showed a brilliant wicket keeping ability, backed up by wicket takers Aaron Calder, John Clifford, Cliff Hall, Matt Hall (2), Kev Bills, David Mumford (2) and Ian Finch.

After an excellent tea prepared by Vicki Braithwaite, the Matt Hall Invitation XI embarked on a seemingly hopeless chase. Paul Phillips was effective with the ball taking two early wickets before Ayres & R Finch started hitting rapidly at six an over. Finch was bowled bringing Hall to the crease who showed a quick array of big shots including 21 off one over, before being bowled by a slower Hickey delivery. The Invitation XI had Lodsworth’s score in sight but the introduction of Joe Clifford (2) & Andy Long (2) regained control of the innings and bowled the tail enders out.

A good day was had by all with over 450 runs being scored, a big thank you must go to James Hickey & Paul Phillips for doing the BBQ. Trophies were presented by the captains to Joe Clifford & Lee Ayres for their man of match displays.

Scribe Matt Hall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s